It's astounding how often this happens and I'm seeing WAY too much of this:
MEN who decide it's OK for the ladies they take out to foot the bill.
I'm not sure where, when, or why they think this is OK, but I can assure you it is highly frowned upon from the majority of the female community.
Yes, there are always exceptions (ie: working lunch between co-workers) but at the end of the day I think if those rules don't apply, it's always polite to extend an offer.
I am very curious. What is the protocol for this? Am I in the wrong for thinking it's a no-brainier for men to insist on paying?
I would LOVE to know your thoughts.




I enjoy exploring new cities, then sharing the treasures I find with others. I'm a connector and a believer. I think cupcakes make the world go 'round and could live off mac & cheese. It brings me joy to make others smile. I thrive off laughter, love, and good conversation. I'm a bit of a fashion bug who always supports the little guy. I like to inspire people to dream big and LIVE LARGE.

When it comes to dating, I always offer but admittedly, I think it's a bit odd if the guy doesn't pay on the first or second date! Sometimes I think it's a double standard though (by society, not you haha)- expecting financial independence but then insisting on guys paying.
ReplyDeleteI go by this rule...whoever "asks" the person out should be prepared to foot the bill.
ReplyDeleteFor me, I feel like the guy should pay for the first few dates...or at least offer! Maybe that is "old-fashioned" of me, but I still feel like we live in a world full of double standards that do NOT work in women's favor. So, as long as we live in that world, I would like to keep the one that works IN our favor! haha Now, if I am "dating" someone- like going out on a regular basis...yes, I will go dutch every once in awhile and sometimes foot the bill.
That's my two cents ;-)
the guy should always pay at least the first two times regardless of how the date goes.
ReplyDelete